The nest

Our caravan is currently soaking up the sunshine here in Geraldton, WA:

You know when you’re about to create something and think ‘this is going to be soooo great – I can’t wait to see it’s finalized glory!’.  Then you finish it and immediately think ‘What on earth …  I wasted all my effort on THAT??!’  Sometimes these (many) learning experiences can be very frustrating, but I do have to (grudgingly) admit that I am thankful for the knowledge gained.

Nonetheless I’m quite pleased with how my little bird home turned out.  With 3 entrances and cosy enough to accommodate the most discerning nester, this kiddies’ book inspired home is practically ready to move into, just needs hanging in an appropriate nesting locale.

Cleckheaton’s ‘California’ 8ply came through with the goods again, achieving a 43% and 46% felted reduction in height and width respectively, using 7mm needles.

This was made as a precursor to my dream of creating a knitted/felted teapot.  I think I’m a little closer to achieving the skill set needed to make it, and hope 2016 will see my pot capable of pouring alcoholic beverages for visiting friends (she types while knocking on wood).

And finally, something to start the incoming year.  I sometimes stumble across quotes and bits of text that resonate with who I am or trying to do/make/think/be.  Here’s a New Year wish from Neil Gaiman’s Journal, written a few years ago – but one which may touch a chord with you too:

I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes.
Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re Doing Something.
So that’s my wish for you, and all of us, and my wish for myself. Make New Mistakes. Make glorious, amazing mistakes. Make mistakes nobody’s ever made before. Don’t freeze, don’t stop, don’t worry that it isn’t good enough, or it isn’t perfect, whatever it is: art, or love, or work or family or life.
Whatever it is you’re scared of doing, Do it.
Make your mistakes, next year and forever.

 

Thank you for kindly dropping by – I really appreciate your interest, and wish you all the very best for the forthcoming year.

With warm regards,

Cath

 

15 Comments

  1. Hi Cathy
    Very cute! We are sitting in a cafe in Keri Keri on the North Island of NZ waiting for a possum merino shop to open as I am up for another jumper to keep me warm next winter. Have you ever used possum merino yarn?
    Ps Peter is a grandad to Madeleine born 2 days ago!
    Cheers
    Helen

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Helen! Yes, that possum/merino is rather delicious, and am jealous you’re cafe-ing before purchasing – what a lifestyle .. which will only keep getting better!! Wonderful news that Peter is again a grandpa – pls pass on our congrats.

      Like

  2. I think it is absolutely gorgeous! Love the colours, and the felting turned out perfectly. Maybe one or two of those would keep the shrike thrushes out of my hanging baskets, they have just started yet another nest…I will have to try it…:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you wolfberryknits! I am very happy with the outcome of this project (despite all the inbetween ‘learning processes’ on the other items that didn’t quite turn out as expected/wanted). I’m sure the shrike thrushes would love the nest .. but they are spoiled for choice in your lovely garden!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Trishy! I’m rather happy with how it turned out tho not sure what I’ll do with it in the van. When it gets into the 40s I have to retreat to air-con in van, otherwise it’s not too bad; we don’t have the energy depleting humidity that’s in the east thank heavens! Happy nu yr to you and Tim also.
      Love Cath xxxx

      Like

  3. Ohhhh….Many cuteness! So imagination! I think that this lil bird home may well be useable too Cath. I have some tiny wrens that nest in the bamboo down the back, & I think they would enjoy a soft furry home like that.
    Did it take a lotta wool? Loving the colours & the curly loop for easy attachment. Also noice pic of it in the gum tree – tres’ mod Aus.

    IMPORTANTLY -Do these nests come in dog- size cath?!? Rowley wants one BADLY.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hahahaha Deb!! you always make me laugh!! Thanks so very muchly for kind comments – it looks better in reality than in pics. Have been trying to take better photos unfortunately I think they’re getting worse before they get better! Certainly, there are many felted ‘cat caves’ – not sure about Rowley-sized doggy dens tho, but definitely food for thought!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

